ASSEMBLY, Friday 26 October 2018

Academic

Academic Vouchers

Congratulations to Thomas Maurel, Sebastiano Panieri and Ben MacFarlaine on attaining three commendations for academic endeavour and are awarded academic vouchers.

SA Computer Olympiad

Liam Foxcroft came joint first in the province in the 2^{nd} round of the Computer Programming Olympia. A total of 7905 were registered for the first round and 701 were selected to take part in the second round. To be first in the province in the second round is a remarkable accomplishment.

Liam then progressed to the finals and was awarded a bronze medal. The intensive ten hour coding contest took place at the Standard Bank Global Leadership Centre in Johannesburg. Only ten learners took part in the finals; one from Gauteng, two from KwaZulu-Natal and seven from the Western Cape.

Liam is presented with a certificate for this exceptional achievement. Well done.

Cultural

Debating Society

Congratulations to Rohan Naidoo who will be the Debating Society Chairperson for 2019, and to Robert Dugmore who will be Deputy Chairperson 2019.

Debating Colours

Full colours for Debating are awarded to Robert Dugmore. Congratulations.

Interact

We have pleasure in announcing the Interact leaders for October 2018 to August 2019 as follows: Matthew Leong (President), Tristan Turner (Secretary), James Rumbelow and Kyle Belev.

Sport

Cricket Awards

Jono Bird receives three signature cricket bats:

Jono Bird 115 1st X1 vs Westville BHS Jono Bird 102* 1st X1 vs Westville BHS Jono Bird 119 1st X1 vs Selborne College

The following achieved 5 wickets or more in a match:

Keagan Blanckenberg 18-4-56-6 1st X1 vs Union High Abel Mokwena 9-0-25-5 U14A vs Waterkloof Robbie Dicey 7-1-34-5 U14A vs SACS Ross Martin 8-3-10-5 U14A vs Clifton College

Ross achieved a GOLDEN TRIPLE CROWN this year. Apart from winning matches against SACS, Wynberg and Rondebosch with the u14A team, Ross also achieved a rare feat by taking a hat-trick, scoring a century and taking a fifer in the same year.

Water Polo

The U14A water polo side has had a very good start to the season. They placed third in the Rondebosch Tournament at the end of last term, losing to Grey PE in the semi-final. In a festival hosted by Hilton College during the holidays, they were the only unbeaten side, notching up wins against Hilton, Reddam, St Stithians, St Johns and Clifton. Their greatest achievement, however, was a comfortable win over Rondebosch in the final of the Mazinter, where they won 8-4, having beaten SACS 2-1 in the semi-final. This team that plays exceptionally well under pressure and every boy does his part. Congratulations to the boys, captained by Nicholas Steinhagen and coached by Brett Sneddon and Aidan Neill.

The U15A water polo team placed 2nd at the inter-schools Mazinter after an exciting final that saw them just lose in a penalty shoot out to Reddam. The U17A "stayers" team participated in the national Saints tournament and placed 8th- winning 4 and losing 4.

Water Polo Achievements

<u>Service ties</u>: These are given to boys who have coached, refereed and helped with "table" duties showing commitment to waterpolo, and are awarded to: Aiden Murphy, Niall Maloney, Jock Buchanan and Mikey Ford.

<u>Leadership</u>: Congratulations to Ryan Sneddon who has been selected as the 2019 1st team waterpolo captain and to Sam Elliott who has been selected as vice. Ryan is also to be commended on the outstanding achievement of being selected for two national tournament teams at both SACS and Saints. This selection meant that he was in the top 13 players out of the 260 that participated in each tournament.

<u>Colours:</u> Congratulations to the following players who have been awarded half colours: - Matthew Smith, Mikey Ford and Niall Maloney.

For their excellent performances, leadership and commitment to waterpolo we congratulate Ryan Sneddon and Sam Elliott on being awarded full colours.

Karate

Shariq Davids took part in the Karate Super League competition in Bloemfontein. He won gold in Kumute in two divisions - U14/15 and U16/17. He won bronze in Kata, division u16/17. He has been selected to the Protea Team to compete in the 9th Commonwealth Championships in Durban from 29 November to 2 December. Well done, Shariq.

Swimming

James Griffiths swam a South African Youth National qualifying time in the 100m butterfly. It qualifies him to take part in the National Youth Swimming Championships to take place in Durban in April 2019. Well done, James!

Rowing

On Friday 12th October, a squad of 17 boys and two coaches from the Bishops Rowing club started the long journey to Boston USA to compete in the Head of the Charles Regatta. This regatta is internationally renowned and is held in high esteem within the rowing community across the globe. The regatta boasts around 12 000 competitors and sees around 20 000 spectators line the banks. The Race format is a heads race which means that crews are set off in 15 second intervals over a course of 3 miles (just short of 5km). Bishops sent four crews in total; a single, double, coxed four and an eight. Crews from around the world participated with up to 86 crews for each event. Our squad had a great week of preparation whilst also seeing the sights of the area. This included visiting the likes of Brown in Providence, Harvard in Boston - from whom we borrowed boats - and watching an American Football game between rival universities (Harvard and Princeton). Further activities included walking the streets of Boston and learning about its rich history - all this in addition to the hectic rowing schedule. The week culminated in the race which is held on the Charles River which runs through several university campuses and moves under a number of bridges which undoubtedly makes it a tricky course to navigate. Furthermore, the conditions alone provide a trying obstacle, gale-force head winds and a temperature of around 5 degrees. Needless to say, all the boys came off the water feeling somewhat frozen and yet were surprisingly upbeat and positive. The results are as follows:

Single scull: Oliver Werner placed 26 out of 36 crews.

Double Scull: Jack Rowand and Kyle Deans placed 18th out of 43 crews.

Coxed four: Christian Morris, Tristan Lee, Jack Paine, Luke Flint and Nicky Sieff placed 70th out of 85 crews.

Eight: Declan Watling, Stefan Breytenbach, Shaun Obrien, Nic McAdam, Oliver Kane-Smith, Francois Breytenbach, Drew Burton, Mitch Fussell and Rhys Williams placed 29th out of 85 crews.

General

Student Representative Forum

Sachin Chagin is the Chairman of the SRF for 2018/19 and Rohan Naidoo the Secretary. Congratulations to them both.